The Come and Go Cableway (bifune cable) that connects the Municipality of Pigra to the Municipality of Argegno was inaugurated in 1971, after the structural review lasting more than a year the cable car racing resumed in June of 2011. The route of the cableway is fascinating, in four minutes covering a vertical drop of 653 meters, with an average gradient of 71% at the speed of 5 meters per second. The cableway is an indispensable resource for the residents of the area as it allows to quickly reach Argegno and the towns of Lake Como. In the summer months the cable car is used by many tourists to reach Pigra, to admire the sweeping panorama, visit the town and go hiking on Mount Galbiga and the Alpe of Colonno.
Pigra is a small town rich with history, with Como ally in the ten years’ war, it was a possession of the Visconti in the fourteenth century, a fief of the Rusconi in the fifteenth century, under the rule of Giacomo de Medici (the Medeghino) in the sixteenth century. We remember the parish church of Santa Margherita, built in the mid-sixteenth century. In 1593 the Bishop Niguarda in one of his pastoral visits describes it with its tower campanile and a two-nave building, a third nave was added in 1830.
In Pigra we recommend to visit Al Cason, the big house where is situated the headquarters of the Pigra Workers Society, now a museum, one of the first Mutual Aid Societies, founded in 1877, of which Giuseppe Garibaldi was an honorary member. The building was the heart of the town, on the ground floor there was the dairy, on the first floor - the hall for a theater and the meeting hall, on the second floor the kindergarten, the schools and the town’s archive.
For more information: Cableway Argegno – Pigra: Station Argegno Tel. 031 821344, Station Pigra Tel. 031 810844
We recommend a visit to the Island on the day of the Sagra dei Lumaghitt, which celebrates St.Giovanni on June 24th with grand illuminations on Lake Como and the mass celebrated on the ruins of the St.Eufemia basilica.Comacina Island
Various theme cruises are organized by the Lake Navigation Management, besides the normal lake navigation service, in July and August, it is possible to take a cruise on the Concordia with restaurant service.Navigation
Brienno preserves its origins of a medieval village, the stone houses based in the water, the narrow streets barely separating the buildings; beautiful porticos, stairways and underpasses make this place a true gem.Brienno